Four Serogroups of Legionnaires' Disease Bacteria Defined by Direct Immunofluorescence

    loading  Checking for direct PDF access through Ovid


Thirty-five strains of Legionnaires' disease bacteria were shown to belong in four distinct serologic groups on the basis of findings obtained with direct fluorescent antibody testing. Thirty of the strains were placed in group 1, three in group 2, one in group 3, and one in group 4. Immunoelectrophoretic studies showed both unique and common antigens among the representative strains of the four serogroups.

Related Topics

    loading  Loading Related Articles