Interview with James W. Begun, PhD, James A. Hamilton Professor of Healthcare Management, School of Public Health, University of Minnesota

    loading  Checking for direct PDF access through Ovid


James W. Begun, PhD, is the James A. Hamilton Professor of Healthcare Management at the University of Minnesota. He earned his PhD in sociology from the University of North Carolina (UNC). He previously served on the faculty of UNC, Cornell University, and Virginia Commonwealth University.

Dr. Begun teaches graduate-level courses in management and leadership in the University of Minnesota School of Public Health, where he was the recipient of the 2009 Leonard M. Schuman Award for Excellence in Teaching. In addition, he has received teaching awards from the MHA program and the Carlson School of Management executive MBA program at the University of Minnesota and the master of health services administration program at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Dr. Begun's research focuses on the strategy and performance of healthcare organizations and occupations. Among his more than 100 publications is the book Strategic Adaptation in the Health Professions: Meeting the Challenges of Change (Jossey-Bass, 1993). In 2001, he received ACHE's Edgar C. Hayhow Award for his article “Strategic Cycling: Shaking Complacency in Healthcare Strategic Planning,” coauthored with Kathleen B. Heatwole.

Dr. Begun has served as director of the master of healthcare administration program and chair of the Department of Healthcare Management at the University of Minnesota. He has also chaired the Accrediting Commission on Education in Health Services Administration (now known as the Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education [CAHME]) and has been an active promoter of competency-based education. In 2008, the Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) awarded him the Gary L. Filerman Prize for Innovation in Healthcare Management Education.

Dr. Begun is a member of the Plexus Institute Science Advisory Board; Board of Commissioners, Commission on Nurse Certification; Board of Directors, CAHME; ACHE's Higher Education Committee; and the editorial advisory board of Health Care Management Review.

Related Topics

    loading  Loading Related Articles