Passing the Torch

    loading  Checking for direct PDF access through Ovid


It seems like just yesterday we were ringing in the New Year and now we have just completed our 2016 annual Society of Trauma Nurses (STN) conference. Thank you to the Conference Planning Committee, speakers, and headquarter staff for a truly amazing conference. The STN annual conference marks both the beginnings and the ends of the terms of office for some of our STN-elected representatives. Congratulations to the following new board members and officers: President—Joan Pirrung; President Elect—Cindy Blank-Reid; Treasurer—Maria McMahon; Directors at large—Sean Elwell, Melissa Hockaday, and Sarah Mattocks.
The work this past year has been tremendous. Here are a few of the highlighted accomplishments:
As STN President, Julie Nash worked hard to solidify our mission and vision in the eyes of numerous allied organizations. Through her work with the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma, President Obama's “Stop The Bleeding” campaign, to the steps of the US Capital lobbying for financial support for trauma systems, Julie has been a champion for our communities, families, hospitals, and state systems. Her indelible mark will be forever written in the pages of our history. Thank you, Julie, for making a difference in all the lives that you have touched.
As one term ends, another is beginning. Our new STN President, Joan Pirrung, is on board and ready to take on the challenge of moving us to the next mark in our organization's history. Her tenacity, vision, commitment, and resolve are only a few of the traits she clearly possesses. We are truly blessed to have her as our leader. Now as we move forward, we bring with us strong finances, exceptional leadership, diverse membership, and a clear vision.
    loading  Loading Related Articles